Change The Only Constant Thing

Sometimes everything seems to be going wrong. I woke up today and it seemed like any other day. Said my prayers and had very well laid plans.

The first interesting thing that happened was my discovery that some banking instructions sent were never executed by the bank, which means my company now owes more money than we should. I guess I will get an apology and nothing more. Thank God we can offset these outstanding payments

The next interesting thing is that I missed my Pilates class for no good reason. I now have to take a body pump class at a less convenient time of the day. At least , thank God I can do something else today. I don’t want to start the week with a missed gym class

As if those two were not enough, one of my outsourcing clients sent mail saying they did not want to continue with our contract because they had cash flow issues. After all the work we had put into the organization. Hmmmm

As if that was not enough a client is insisting she does not have emails I sent to her last week and I am having to re-send. This may seem like nothing to you but I hate the drudgery that is admin. And I am only doing this because I am short staffed.

There is still more but I will not bore you or laden you with the more. I don’t even know where I am going with this but please stay with me.

A few weeks ago God told me He was doing a new thing. I was very excited at this. You know when you hear ‘Behold, I do a new thing’, it is very grand and you are supposed to halt in your tracks.

This is not the first time so I know how to halt. There is usually an adrenaline rush because you know something exciting is about to happen.

A little while later a long standing member of my organisation resigned out of the blue. This took me aback but what to do. You go on and know this is an opportunity to get someone better .

I however a few days after the resignation, I was feeling just generally overwhelmed and I felt God saying I should just lay everything I was doing, carrying, thinking, analyzing down. and I did.

A few days ago God reminded me of the way to receive the new is to drop, lay down, disconnect from the old. Remember you cannot put new wine into old wine skins because the bubbles will destroy the old wine skins.

Change the only constant thing comes with hogs and lows but in most cases leads to something amazing .

This month of August I have spent preparing my new organisation. Transitioning online real time, acquiring and implementing this software for this, that app for that.

When you are pregnant, many unpleasant changes but you end up with a whole new human being and your life never remains the same.

When you are building or purchasing a new home, much drama. Apparently this is the second most traumatizing thing after the death of a spouse. However when you settle into your new place it is like heaven.

When you start a new job or you are promoted to a new position or you are newly married or you move to a new country, ( the list is endless) there is a whole lot of learning and prep work and mindset change and pain but the end is almost always sooooo good.

This is therefore to say, I am going through birthing pains where I must learn to be nimble on my feet. Entering a new arena where I have to be resilient and diligent. A new place that is going to be much fun but much bigger impact so some clients cannot go there with me. Some members of staff cannot go there with me. Some mindset cannot go there with me

Today has therefore been a blessing in disguise or should I say a recognizable blessing. What to do now? Should I do a 24hour fast as I had planned or should I just do one meal today. After the day I have had this is a very easy decision.

Keep calm, God is in control.

Leave a comment